Science Worksheets, Human Body – Parts of the Eye – Eye Anatomy

There are 5 sense organs in the human body. The features and functions of the sense organs are different from each other. One of our sense organs is the eye. The eye is one of the most important organs in our body. So what is the structure of the eye? What are the parts (layers), functioning and features of the eye? We have examined the details about the eye for you.

The eye is an organ that has very important functions in the human body. It is the organ that performs vision events with the help of light. There are structures and protective layers for the visual function of our eyes.

Structure of the Human Eye 

There are many structures and protective structures in the eyes to provide vision. These structures consist of eyebrows, eyelids, eyelashes and lacrimal glands. Eyebrows, which are one of the structures that protect the eyes, prevent the sweat formed in the forehead area from reaching the eyes. Eyelids prevent all substances harmful to the eye from entering the eye. Eyelashes protect the eyes from dust, while tear glands clean the eyes. These cleansing works are done through tears. Apart from these, it kills the microorganisms that have entered according to the enzymes in the tears.

The Parts (Layers), Functions, and Features of the Eye

The eye consists of three layers:

  •  the outer layer (sclera and cornea)
  •  the middle layer (uvea) and
  •  the inner layer (retina)

The outer layer surrounds the eye from the outside. It is white in color and consists of connective tissue. It forms a transparent layer in the anterior part of the eyeball. This structure is called the cornea. The cornea allows the refraction of light. It does not contain blood vessels. Thanks to this structure, the tissue is fed with fluid. The job of the cornea is to refract the light coming into the eye and transmit it to the lens of the eye.

The middle layer, also known as the vascular layer, is located at the bottom of the outer layer. There are many capillaries in the vascular layer. The task of this layer is that thanks to the pigments it contains, excess light is absorbed and reflections are prevented. Thus, the image becomes clear.

The part that gives color to the eye is the iris. The vascular layer forms this part. In the middle of the iris is the pupil. The eye muscles in the iris move. Thus, the pupil narrows and expands and the amount of light entering the eye is adjusted.

Finally, in the inner part of the eyeball, there is the retinal layer, also known as the retina. The retina contains receptor cells and nerves. It contains cone and rod cells. This provides colors and shapes. While the rod-shaped ones provide black and white vision, the cone-shaped ones enable us to see in bright light and in color.

The eye, which is one of our five sense organs, has many features. Its most important feature is that it is our sense organ of sight. It is an organ located in the eye socket between the forehead, cheekbones and nasal bones.

Eye Anatomy

Leave a Reply